Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

The RECOVERY Trial has been awarded the 2021 Times Higher Education (THE) Award in the ‘Research Project of the Year: STEM’ category.

The RECOVERY Trial has been awarded the 2021 Times Higher Education (THE) Award in the ‘Research Project of the Year: STEM’ category. The award was presented last night at a ceremony held at the Hilton London Metropole Hotel, and received by Oxford Population Health’s Director of Communications and Public Engagement, Anne Whitehouse.

Known as ‘the Oscars of higher education’, the awards attract hundreds of entries each year that ‘exemplify the talent, dedication and innovation of individuals and teams across all aspects of university life.’ This year, almost 600 entries were made across the 20 categories, demonstrating the important role universities have played in negotiating the challenges of the coronavirus pandemic to continue delivering impactful, innovative research. 

The ‘Research Project of the Year: STEM’ category, sponsored by Elsevier, is awarded to an individual or team at a UK or Irish higher education institution for ‘innovative research in STEM subjects that has a far-reaching impact and has caught, or has the potential to catch, the imagination of the public.’ Submissions needed to demonstrate evidence of significant or novel results, creative collaborations and imaginative communication of research results. 

Having launched as an emergency response in just nine days in March 2020, RECOVERY has found three effective treatments for COVID-19, discoveries that have vastly improved the care of patients hospitalised by coronavirus worldwide. These include the inexpensive steroid dexamethasone, the arthritis treatment tocilizumab and Ronapreve, a synthetic monoclonal antibody treatment that protects the immunocompromised. The study has also proved six other treatments to be ineffective against COVID-19 (including hydroxychloroquine and convalescent plasma), helping healthcare services to prioritise resources.

THE editor John Gill said: ‘The award winners demonstrate that 2019-20 was not just a year of pandemic disruption, it was also a year in which incredible achievements were made in all the areas you would hope and expect: world-changing research, brilliant learning and teaching, international and industrial engagement, and the full gamut of activities that run through universities like words through a stick of rock.’ 

Sir Martin Landray, Professor of Medicine and Epidemiology and Joint Chief Investigator for RECOVERY, said ‘This award is a real recognition that throughout this pandemic science has been our saviour. Understanding which treatments work and which do not has saved hundreds of thousands, probably millions of lives. Long-term investment into science, technology, and a real understanding of what matters to solve a pandemic has been at the heart of the success of RECOVERY.’

Sir Peter Horby, Professor of Emerging Infectious Diseases in the Nuffield Department of Medicine, University of Oxford, and Joint Chief Investigator for the RECOVERY trial, added: ‘This has really been a national effort that goes far beyond the team here at Oxford University, and we can't thank enough all the people who have made RECOVERY possible. We’d also like to thank our funders of course: UK Research and Innovation, the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR), Wellcome, and many other organisations who are supporting this work.’

The University of Oxford received two other awards. Professor Dame Sarah Gilbert, who developed the Oxford/AstraZeneca vaccine, received the THE Outstanding Achievement Award, with the judges crediting the marrying of her long-standing experience in immunology to “phenomenal foresight, perseverance and sheer hard work”.

The work of the University’s Public Affairs Directorate to make the university the go-to source of information for policymakers and the media during the pandemic delivered a third win for the institution on the night, in the Outstanding Marketing/Communications Team category.

The full list of the winners and details of the awards are available on the THE Awards website.

Similar stories

Meta-analysis informed the updated WHO guidelines for treatment of uncomplicated malaria in the first trimester of pregnancy

A new WWARN meta-analysis, commissioned by the World Health Organization and which informed a change to its treatment guidelines, has been published in The Lancet. The study provides compelling evidence that artemether-lumefantrine should now replace quinine as the treatment of choice in the first trimester.

Bacterial infections linked to one in eight global deaths, according to GRAM study

Data showing 7.7 million deaths from 33 bacterial infections can guide measures to strengthen health systems, particularly in low-income settings

GRAM visualization tool tracks country-level AMR and related metrics

Interactive app allows users to explore data underlying estimates of global AMR burden

MQRG team delivers training in Mozambique and Ghana

IDDO’s Medicine Quality Research Group delivered in-person training in researchers in Mozambique and Ghana to support a study into the quality of three antibiotics.

Studying the MSc IHTM 2022/23

MSc IHTM sets out to attract individuals from low resource contexts who are looking to gain the skills and experience to help shape global health in the future. This year 23 students make up the cohort bringing the running total over the eight years of the course to 175 students from 56 countries, the majority of which are LMICs.

Abhilasha Karkey, new OUCRU Nepal Director

OUCRU Nepal is pleased to announce that as of 01 October 2022, Dr Abhilasha Karkey will assume the role of Director.